Wild Rose

Certificate 15

 

(2018) 100 mins

Director: Tom Harper
Writer: Nicole Taylor
Cinematography: George Steel
Production Design: Lucy Spink
Music: Jack Arnold

 

ABOUT

Rose-Lynn (Jessie Buckley), a bolshie 20-something fresh out of jail and with two small kids to think of, dreams of leaving Glasgow for Nashville and making it as a country singer.  Her exasperated mother Marion (Julie Walters) is sceptical.  But Rose-Lynn finds an unexpected ally and mentor in Susannah (Sophie Okonedo), for whom she works as a cleaner.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5117428/?ref_=nv_sr_2

REVIEWS

“Travelling across the country and craving other oceans, Wild Rose has a great big heart and an unashamed optimism about the importance of following your dreams. At times it’s as cliched as that sounds – but Buckley has a magnetic charm and steely authenticity that commands attention. In her mother-daughter pairing with Walters, there’s great bravery and conviction in the relationship which battles pride and protection behind closed doors.”  Sight and Sound

It posits a classic setup — a young rebel (in this case a young Glaswegian woman fresh out of prison, played by the incandescent Jessie Buckley) with a raw streak of talent (singing country music) and then tests how badly she wants to succeed (will she leave her young children for a chance to go to Nashville?). Out of these familiar, predictable elements director Tom Harper and screenwriter Nicole Taylor have fashioned something entirely delightful, fresh as a Scottish summer evening.”  Hollywood Reporter

“Jessie Buckley gives a stand-out performance.”  The Mirror

SHOWING TIMES
Tue 04 Jun Faversham
Fri 07 Jun Chilworth
Tue 18 Jun Williton
Thu 20 Jun Great Massingham
Tue 25 Jun Dereham
Fri 05 Jul Boscombe
Fri 12 Jul Brockenhurst
Sun 21 Jul Nether Stowey
Fri 26 Jul Allerford
Tue 30 Jul Coverack
Tue 06 Aug North Creake
Fri 09 Aug Hiltingbury
Fri 09 Aug Stanton
Tue 13 Aug Petersfield
Wed 14 Aug Chepstow
Wed 21 Aug Warminster
Wed 21 Aug Whitchurch
Thu 22 Aug Wickham
Sat 24 Aug Orkney: Hoy
Wed 28 Aug Holt
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar