The Shape of Water

Certificate 15

(2017) 123 mins

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Writers: Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor
Cinematography: Dan Laustsen
Production Design: Paul D Austerberry
Music: Alexandre Desplat

ABOUT

Elisa (Sally Hawkins) is a mute, isolated woman who works as a cleaning lady in a hidden, high-security government laboratory in 1962 Baltimore. Her life changes forever when she discovers the lab’s classified secret — a mysterious, scaled creature from South America that lives in a water tank. As Elisa develops a unique bond with her new friend, she soon learns that its fate and very survival lies in the hands of a hostile government agent and a marine biologist.  Also starring Octavia Spencer.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5580390/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

Guillermo del Toro’s best film since Pan’s Labyrinth, The Shape of Water is a beguiling love story: a combo of creature feature, cold war spy thriller, escape drama, parable and poetic fantasy. The film leads with the heart, weaving together the elements of its silent protagonist, the mystical God-like amphibian from the Amazon on the harsh backdrop of a high-security government facility in the 60s, where most of the action takes place. It’s a masterful work and del Toro succeeds on all levels, delivering an unforgettable fairy tale and exquisite piece of visceral film-making that tugs on our emotions. We are intrigued, touched, heartbroken and elated.  Urban Cinefile

“A surprising and beautiful adult fairy tale.”  Radio Times

SHOWING TIMES
Wed 27 Jun Holt
Fri 29 Jun Sheppey Blue Town
Sat 30 Jun Colwinston
Sat 07 Jul Buckingham
Mon 09 Jul Beer
Thu 12 Jul Wookey Hole
Sun 15 Jul Sully
Thu 19 Jul Sturminster Newton
Fri 20 Jul Boscombe
Fri 20 Jul Harrold
Sat 21 Jul Doulting
Sat 21 Jul Hythe
Sat 21 Jul Langford Budville
Fri 27 Jul Eye
Fri 27 Jul Fordingbridge
Fri 27 Jul Northwold
Fri 27 Jul Watchet
Sat 04 Aug Orkney: Hoy
Sun 05 Aug Southwold
Wed 08 Aug Whitchurch
Fri 10 Aug Chepstow
Fri 10 Aug South Petherton
Tue 21 Aug Newton Flotman
Fri 24 Aug Compton
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar