The Little Stranger

Certificate 12A

(2018) 111 mins

Director: Lenny Abrahamson
Writers: Lucinda Coxon, from the novel by Sarah Waters
Cinematography: Ole Bratt Birkeland
Production Design: Simon Elliott
Music: Stephen Rennicks

ABOUT

The Little Stranger tells the story of Dr. Faraday (Domhnall Gleeson), the son of a housemaid, who has built a life of quiet respectability as a country doctor. During the long hot summer of 1948, he is called to a patient at Hundreds Hall, where his mother once worked. The Hall has been home to the Ayres family for more than two centuries. But it is now in decline and its inhabitants – mother (Charlotte Rampling), son (Will Poulter) and daughter (Ruth Wilson) – are haunted by something more ominous than a dying way of life. When he takes on his new patient, Faraday has no idea how closely, and how disturbingly, the family’s story is about to become entwined with his own.  Focus Features

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6859762/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

Defying conventional wisdom about how to build a mystery tinged with elements of horror, the film resists today’s unimaginative tropes in favor of something refreshing, seemingly inspired by the muted psychological suspense of works such as Henry James’ The Turn of the Screw and Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House. In other words: Don’t expect any hokey scare tactics here. Under the steady hand of Oscar-nominated director Abrahamson, the film is a calculated slow burn, one that plays a cunning head game with those viewers willing to be entranced. Detractors may dismiss the pacing as dull, or cockily believe the puzzle can be easily solved, but for the faithful, the payoff in The Little Stranger is exquisite.”  Austin Chronicle

Agatha Christie intrigue meets Dennis Wheatley spookiness in a slow-burning but rather beguiling period tale from Room director Lenny Abrahamson.  Radio Times

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 25 Jan Buckingham
Fri 25 Jan Calder Vale
Fri 08 Feb Chulmleigh
Sat 16 Feb Garvestone & Thuxton
Sat 23 Feb Brading
Tue 26 Feb Castle Cary
Fri 01 Mar South Petherton
Sun 03 Mar Hethersett
Mon 04 Mar Stourbridge
Wed 06 Mar Thornham 
Fri 08 Mar Tintern
Fri 08 Mar Abbots Langley
Mon 11 Mar Cerne Abbas
Sat 16 Mar Postwick
Fri 22 Mar Watchet
Fri 29 Mar Tintern
Fri 29 Mar Bickenhall
Fri 05 Apr Sheppey Blue Town
Sat 27 Apr Steeple Ashton
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar