The Keeper

Certificate 15

 

(2018) 120 mins

Director: Marcus H. Rosenmüller
Writers: Marcus H. Rosenmüller, Nicholas J Schofield
Cinematography: Daniel Gottschalk
Production Design: Michael Binzer, Doerthe Komnick, Johannes Sternagel
Music: Gerd Baumann

 

ABOUT

The Keeper tells the extraordinary love story between a young English woman and a German PoW, who together overcome prejudice, public hostility and personal tragedy. While visiting a PoW camp near Manchester at the end of the 2nd World War, Margaret Friar (Freya Mavor), the daughter of the manager of the local football team, notices a young German soldier Bert Trautmann (David Kross, The Reader). Her father is so taken by Bert’s prowess as a goal-keeper that he gets him out of the camp to play for his local team. Rather than going back to Germany like nearly all the other camp inmates, Bert marries Margaret and signs for Man City. His signing causes outrage to thousands of Man City fans, many of them Jewish. But Margaret wins support from an unexpected direction: Rabbi Altmann, a Man City supporter who fled the Nazis, publishes an open letter opposing the campaign against Bert. Bert’s path to acceptance begins, and peaks at the 1956 FA Cup Final when he secures victory for Man City by playing on despite breaking his neck.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4642192/?ref_=nv_sr_3

REVIEWS

“Rosenmueller’s film may struggle to articulate the complexities of Trautmann’s character, but the role he played in changing public opinion can’t be ignored and, if ever there was a story of forgiveness and reconciliation that needed retelling right now, it would surely be his. He arrived as an enemy, but went on to become the first foreign player to be voted England’s Player of the Year. Football alone may not be able to heal a nation’s deep wounds, but The Keeper suggests that, for at least 90 minutes, it can induce a much-needed sense of cohesion.”  thesetpieces.com

SHOWING TIMES
Tue 07 May Capel
Wed 08 May Whitchurch
Fri 10 May Chilworth
Tue 14 May Bentworth
Sat 18 May Kingston St Mary
Tue 21 May Newton Flotman
Thu 23 May Hayle
Fri 24 May Peterston super Ely
Sat 25 May Kingston
Fri 31 May Abbots Langley
Fri 31 May Holwell
Mon 03 Jun Neatishead
Tue 04 Jun Bradford on Avon
Mon 10 Jun Emsworth
Mon 10 Jun Stanhoe
Fri 14 Jun Hiltingbury
Tue 18 Jun Filby
Sat 22 Jun Halstock
Sat 22 Jun Hilmarton
Tue 25 Jun Membury
Tue 25 Jun Petersfield
Fri 28 Jun Bishopstone
Fri 28 Jun Brockenhurst
Fri 28 Jun Norton St Philip
Fri 28 Jun Watchet
Sat 29 Jun Niton
Fri 05 Jul Highcliffe
Thu 11 Jul Royal Wootton Bassett
Fri 12 Jul Stanton
Fri 12 Jul Titchfield
Sat 20 Jul Langford Budville
Thu 25 Jul Selsey
Fri 26 Jul Calder Vale
Fri 26 Jul Chandlers Ford
Fri 26 Jul Frettenham
Fri 26 Jul Hilgay
Fri 26 Jul Nayland
Fri 26 Jul West Camel
Sat 27 Jul Orkney: St Margarets Hope
Sat 03 Aug Chepstow
Fri 09 Aug Wyverstone
Sat 10 Aug Dinas Powys
Wed 21 Aug Thornham
Thu 22 Aug Waterlooville
Tue 27 Aug Dereham
Fri 30 Aug South Petherton
Sat 31 Aug Denshaw
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar