The Happy Prince

Certificate 15

(2018) 105 mins

Director: Rupert Everett
Writer: Rupert Everett
Cinematography: John Conroy
Production Design: Brian Morris
Music: Gabriel Yared

ABOUT

The Happy Prince looks at the last days of Oscar Wilde’s life, jumping backwards in time for curated highlights. Wilde stumbles around Paris during his final weeks in a haze, with his robust personality and detached attitude masking a ravaged inner life. The film touches upon the writer’s relationship with his wife Constance (a wonderfully stoic Emily Watson), his friendships with Reggie Turner (Colin Firth) and Robbie Ross (Edwin Thomas), two of the few people who stood by the poet upon his release from prison. There’s also a fair amount of Wilde’s tumultuous and sensual relationship with Lord Alfred “Bosie” Douglas (Colin Morgan).  But Wilde (Rupert Everett) observes his own failure with ironic distance and regards the difficulties that beset his life with detachment and humor.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2404639/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

“Everett is beguiling as Wilde, exuding lubricious charm. And this is perhaps how Wilde was, somewhat exploitative when examined objectively, but profoundly talented and charismatic. The English actor has delivered a restrained, lean debut, carefully composing a portrait of the man that is exhaustive without being expansive. The Happy Prince is a film that takes the viewer on an interesting, meandering stroll that only has the occasional stumble, since it can feel a tad overcooked in places. During an argument, Bosie tells Wilde that underneath his pose, he has no substance. This is happily not the case with Everett’s highly enjoyable and sublimely moving tribute.”  The Upcoming

Now, in The Happy Prince,  Everett not only steps into the shoes of the Victorian writer and raconteur but makes his writing and directing debut. The result is a mixed bag, as while Everett the actor masterfully evokes the mournful mix of decadence and decay of the last years of Wilde, Everett the filmmaker is, like so many before him, too much in love with the brilliant old rogue for his own good.”  Eye for Film

“This poignant dramatisation of Wilde’s final years in exile is a powerful parable of passion and redemption”  The Guardian

SHOWING TIMES
Mon 15 Oct Cerne Abbas
Wed 17 Oct Flordon
Sat 20 Oct Halstock
Sat 20 Oct Orkney: St Margaret’s Hope
Tue 23 Oct Marnhull
Wed 24 Oct Stockbridge
Thu 25 Oct Wootton Fitzpaine
Fri 26 Oct Bishopstone
Fri 26 Oct Fordingbridge
Sat 27 Oct Niton
Wed 31 Oct Churchinford
Sat 03 Nov Buckingham
Sat 03 Nov Denshaw
Sat 03 Nov Westleton
Tue 06 Nov Aldershot
Sat 10 Nov Bawdeswell
Sat 10 Nov Beare Green
Tue 13 Nov Bourton
Fri 16 Nov South Petherton
Sat 17 Nov Bothenhampton
Sat 17 Nov Netherbury
Sat 17 Nov South Wonston
Tue 20 Nov Winsford
Wed 21 Nov Boscombe
Wed 21 Nov Motcombe
Fri 23 Nov Watchet
Tue 27 Nov Alton Barnes
Fri 30 Nov Chepstow
Sun 02 Dec Hambledon
Mon 03 Dec Beaminster
Mon 03 Dec Sprowston
Mon 03 Dec Stourbridge
Wed 05 Dec Kilmington
Wed 05 Dec Whitchurch
Thu 06 Dec Loddon
Tue 11 Dec Walsingham
Thu 13 Dec Bonvilston
Thu 13 Dec Owslebury
Thu 13 Dec Sturminster Newton
Fri 14 Dec Milborne Port
Sat 15 Dec Colwinston
Fri 28 Dec Bishopstone BCC
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar