The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Certificate 12A

(2018) 124 mins

Director: Mike Newell
Writers: Kevin Hood, Thomas Bezucha, from the novel by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer
Cinematography: Zac Nicholson
Production Design: James Merifield
Music: Alexandra Haywood

ABOUT

The story begins in 1946 London, where we meet Juliet Ashton (Lily James), who is looking for something serious about which to write. Flashback sequences reveal that Juliet is working at resolving some of her own past issues. An unexpected letter; a curiously named book club; a remote location and a pig farmer are the triggers that entice her to set sail for Guernsey, leaving behind a book signing tour and an American fiancé (Glen Powell), who has swept her off her feet.  Also starring Penelope Wilton, Tom Courtenay and Matthew Goode.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1289403/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

If the film’s intriguing title gives you an appetite, take the leap and have a bite. Having the courage to reach for what you want is the essence of this engaging film that captures not only the imagination but also the heart. Adapted from the novel by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer, Four Weddings and a Funeral director Mike Newell uses his considerable skills to weave together a richly layered film that is both uplifting and moving. It encompasses a war story, a mystery tale and a love triangle, while instilling an enticing sense of place for its stunning Guernsey setting.  It’s delightful.”  Urban Cinefile

“The handsome period design and likeable performers ensure it remains modestly engrossing, with Penelope Wilton offering by far the sharpest contribution as a grieving widow.”  Radio Times

“It is a confection in every sense, but plump with natural sweetness.”  The Telegraph

SHOWING TIMES
Sat 01 Sep Banham
Sat 01 Sep Leavenheath
Sat 01 Sep Tittleshall
Sun 02 Sep Hambledon
Mon 03 Sep Sprowston
Mon 03 Sep Stourbridge
Tue 04 Sep Yetminster
Wed 05 Sep Churchinford
Wed 05 Sep Kilmington
Wed 05 Sep Thornham
Thu 06 Sep Kingsbury Episcopi
Thu 06 Sep Loddon
Thu 06 Sep Royal Wootton Bassett
Thu 06 Sep Selsey
Thu 06 Sep St Arvans
Thu 06 Sep Titchfield
Fri 07 Sep Buriton
Fri 07 Sep Chilworth
Fri 07 Sep Highcliffe
Fri 07 Sep Kingston St Mary
Fri 07 Sep Sparham
Sat 08 Sep Bawdeswell
Sat 08 Sep Beare Green
Sat 08 Sep Buckingham
Sat 08 Sep Colwinston
Sat 08 Sep Dinas Powys
Sun 09 Sep Crowcombe
Mon 10 Sep Beaminster
Mon 10 Sep Porthallow
Mon 10 Sep Shrewton
Tue 11 Sep Bentworth
Tue 11 Sep Colerne
Wed 12 Sep Bransgore
Wed 12 Sep East Stratton
Wed 12 Sep Hanging Langford
Wed 12 Sep Sherborne
Thu 13 Sep Stogursey
Thu 13 Sep Sturminster Newton
Fri 14 Sep Blofield
Fri 14 Sep Buckingham
Fri 14 Sep Chulmleigh
Fri 14 Sep Colyton
Fri 14 Sep Hardington Mandeville
Fri 14 Sep Hoxne
Fri 14 Sep Langford Budville
Fri 14 Sep Llanfair Kilgeddin
Fri 14 Sep Nayland
Fri 14 Sep Poringland
Fri 14 Sep Shipston on Stour
Fri 14 Sep Tisbury
Fri 14 Sep Watchet
Sat 15 Sep Bothenhampton
Sat 15 Sep Downton
Sat 15 Sep Halstock
Sat 15 Sep Niton
Sat 15 Sep Somerton
Sat 15 Sep Weston Longville
Mon 17 Sep Cerne Abbas
Mon 17 Sep Long Stratton
Mon 17 Sep Upper Clatford
Tue 18 Sep Filby
Tue 18 Sep Newton Flotman
Tue 18 Sep Pewsey
Tue 18 Sep Winsford
Wed 19 Sep Boscombe
Wed 19 Sep Calne
Wed 19 Sep Motcombe
Wed 19 Sep Oliver’s Battery
Wed 19 Sep Stockbridge
Wed 19 Sep Vernham Dean
Wed 19 Sep Warminster
Thu 20 Sep Charmouth
Thu 20 Sep Horton
Thu 20 Sep Stradbroke
Fri 21 Sep Abbots Langley
Fri 21 Sep Alburgh
Fri 21 Sep Brockenhurst
Fri 21 Sep Catbrook
Fri 21 Sep Chepstow
Fri 21 Sep Edington
Fri 21 Sep Frogham
Fri 21 Sep Milborne Port
Fri 21 Sep Peterston super Ely
Fri 21 Sep Steep
Fri 21 Sep Stutton
Fri 21 Sep Usk
Fri 21 Sep Wicklewood
Sat 22 Sep Bighton
Sat 22 Sep Brading
Sat 22 Sep Denshaw
Sat 22 Sep Hilmarton
Sat 22 Sep Orkney: St Margaret’s Hope
Sat 22 Sep Orkney: Hoy
Sat 22 Sep Rhoose
Mon 24 Sep Emsworth
Mon 24 Sep Leigh
Tue 25 Sep Alton Barnes
Tue 25 Sep Castle Cary
Tue 25 Sep Marnhull
Tue 25 Sep Petersfield
Tue 25 Sep Walsingham
Wed 26 Sep Coton
Wed 26 Sep Cwmyoy
Wed 26 Sep Droxford
Wed 26 Sep Geldeston
Wed 26 Sep Grittleton
Wed 26 Sep Hadleigh
Wed 26 Sep Mylor Bridge
Wed 26 Sep Whitchurch
Thu 27 Sep Downham Market
Thu 27 Sep Harleston
Thu 27 Sep Waterlooville
Thu 27 Sep Wickham
Thu 27 Sep Winterbourne Earls
Fri 28 Sep Ashwellthorpe
Fri 28 Sep Bishopstone
Fri 28 Sep Bishopstone BCC
Fri 28 Sep Calder Vale
Fri 28 Sep Fordingbridge
Fri 28 Sep Llancarfan
Fri 28 Sep Ludham
Fri 28 Sep Nether Wallop
Fri 28 Sep Norton St Philip
Fri 28 Sep Sheppey Blue Town
Fri 28 Sep The Narth
Fri 28 Sep Thruxton
Fri 28 Sep Undy
Sat 29 Sep Denmead
Sat 29 Sep East Stour
Sat 29 Sep Kingston
Sat 29 Sep Ropley
Sat 29 Sep Syderstone
Tue 02 Oct Aldershot
Tue 02 Oct Capel
Wed 03 Oct Codford St Peter
Wed 03 Oct Framlingham
Wed 03 Oct Reedham
Fri 05 Oct Chard
Fri 05 Oct Dunster
Fri 05 Oct Llanfoist
Fri 05 Oct South Petherton
Sat 06 Oct Westleton
Tue 09 Oct North Creake
Wed 10 Oct Ringwood
Thu 11 Oct Bonvilston
Thu 11 Oct Llanddewi Rhydderch
Thu 11 Oct Mere
Fri 12 Oct Anmer
Fri 12 Oct Bodenham
Fri 12 Oct Clayhidon
Fri 12 Oct Northwold
Fri 12 Oct Nunney
Fri 12 Oct Tintern
Sat 13 Oct Hayle
Sat 13 Oct New Buckenham
Sun 14 Oct Lockeridge
Tue 16 Oct Hythe
Wed 17 Oct South Warnborough
Wed 17 Oct Stanhoe
Thu 18 Oct Hawkley
Fri 19 Oct Coverack
Fri 19 Oct Llandogo
Fri 19 Oct Rode
Fri 19 Oct Watton
Sat 20 Oct Garvestone & Thuxton
Sat 20 Oct Marlingford
Sat 20 Oct Watton
Sun 21 Oct Hethersett
Thu 25 Oct Cowbridge
Fri 26 Oct Allerford
Fri 26 Oct Bickenhall
Fri 26 Oct Chandlers Ford
Fri 26 Oct Cheddon & West Monkton
Fri 26 Oct Collingbourne Ducis
Fri 26 Oct East Meon
Fri 26 Oct Hilgay
Fri 26 Oct Tatworth
Sat 27 Oct Alderbury
Sat 27 Oct Steeple Ashton
Tue 30 Oct Membury
Wed 31 Oct East Knoyle
Wed 31 Oct Llandovery
Fri 02 Nov Liphook
Sat 03 Nov Privett
Mon 05 Nov Odcombe
Thu 08 Nov Brundish
Fri 09 Nov Reepham
Fri 09 Nov Stanton
Sat 10 Nov Hinton St George
Fri 16 Nov Felton
Fri 16 Nov Llanfyllin
Fri 23 Nov Eye
Fri 23 Nov Harrold
Fri 23 Nov Hempnall
Fri 23 Nov Winterslow
Sat 24 Nov Bulwark, Chepstow
Fri 30 Nov Ixworth
Fri 30 Nov Kilndown
Fri 30 Nov Norton Fitzwarren
Mon 03 Dec Neatishead
Fri 07 Dec Odiham
Wed 12 Dec Fontmell Magna
Fri 28 Dec Frettenham
WATCH TRAILER

 

 

 

FOLLOW US
 

Skip to toolbar