The Greatest Showman

Certificate PG

(2017) 105 mins

Director: Michael Gracey
Writers: Jenny Bicks, Bill Condon
Cinematography: Seamus McGarvey
Production Design: Nathan Crowley
Music: John Debney, Joseph Trapanese

ABOUT

P T Barnum (Hugh Jackman), the son of a poor tailor, grows up to become a wily dreamer and schemer.  He marries his devoted childhood sweetheart, Charity (Michelle Williams), and, determined to give her the life she once enjoyed with her wealthy, disapproving family, he quickly manipulates a bank into financing his dream project, a multistory “museum of curiosities.” The wax figures and stuffed giraffes that Barnum puts on display don’t draw much attention at first. But once he starts recruiting human eccentrics – a bearded lady (Keala Settle), conjoined twins (Yusaku Komori and Danial Son), the aptly named Gen. Tom Thumb (Sam Humphrey) – the crowds begin to gather. And Barnum’s show gets a classy lift when he launches the American career of Swedish soprano Jenny Lind (Rebecca Ferguson) and persuades the highbrow theater personality Phillip Carlyle (Zac Efron) to help produce his show.  Los Angeles Times

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1485796/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

The old Technicolor 20th Century Fox logo kick-starting this razzle-dazzle musical is enough of a hint that what follows will be a determinedly old-fashioned wallow in nostalgia, and be as gloriously fictionalised as all of those great biopics from Hollywood’s golden era.  Does it matter? Not one iota, as commercials director and visual-effects wizard Michael Gracey’s feature debut is aimed at providing pure musical entertainment of a sumptuous vintage we haven’t seen since the genre’s 1950s heyday.”  Radio Times

A sizzling explosion of colour, music and joie de vivre, The Greatest Showman is a toe-tapping, life enforcing celebration, reinforcing that ‘a man’s station is limited only by his imagination’. Armed with a winning smile and an abundance of talent, the ever-likeable Hugh Jackman is P.T. Barnum, the 19th century impresario who breaks boundaries as he follows his dreams and creates a circus of ‘freaks’ for those fascinated by the exotic and macabre. It’s a feel-good Hollywood fantasy that whisks us away to a world filled with song and dance, beneath which bubbles an undercurrent of discrimination and longing for acceptance. Admittedly there is little substance beneath the gloss, but nonetheless the film is a crowd pleaser, albeit constrained by its sleek studio shackles.”  Urban Cinefile

SHOWING TIMES
Tue 15 May Newton Flotman
Thu 17 May Great Massingham
Thu 17 May Selsey
Fri 18 May Cheddon & West Monkton
Fri 18 May Hempnall
Fri 18 May Llancarfan
Fri 18 May Watton
Sat 19 May Buckingham
Sat 19 May Colwinston
Sat 19 May Hawkinge
Sat 19 May Langford Budville
Sat 19 May Langham
Sat 19 May Marlingford
Sat 19 May Watton
Sun 20 May Sully
Mon 21 May Stourbridge
Wed 23 May Whitchurch
Thu 24 May Harleston
Fri 25 May Fordingbridge
Fri 25 May Sheppey Blue Town
Tue 29 May Aldershot
Fri 01 Jun Boscombe
Fri 01 Jun Eighton Banks
Fri 01 Jun Highcliffe
Sat 02 Jun Leavenheath
Sun 03 Jun Chandlers Ford CANCELLED
Wed 06 Jun Broomfield
Wed 06 Jun Kilmington
Fri 08 Jun Garvestone & Thuxton
Fri 08 Jun Hiltingbury
Fri 08 Jun Liphook
Sat 09 Jun Dinas Powys
Mon 11 Jun Emsworth
Thu 14 Jun Mere
Fri 15 Jun Anmer
Fri 15 Jun Bawdeswell
Fri 15 Jun Buckingham
Sat 16 Jun Radstock
Tue 19 Jun Filby
Wed 20 Jun Warminster
Sun 24 Jun Abbots Langley
Thu 28 Jun Croscombe
Thu 28 Jun Downham Market
Sat 30 Jun Halstock
Mon 02 Jul Neatishead
Wed 04 Jul Reedham
Fri 06 Jul Catbrook
Fri 06 Jul Reepham
Tue 10 Jul North Creake
Tue 10 Jul Petersfield
Fri 13 Jul Shipston on Stour
Sat 14 Jul Bowerchalke
Tue 17 Jul Hythe
Fri 20 Jul Colyton
Sat 21 Jul Rhoose
Sat 21 Jul Watlington
Thu 26 Jul Waterlooville
Sat 28 Jul Syderstone
Thu 02 Aug Royal Wooton Bassett
Thu 09 Aug Loddon
Fri 10 Aug Chard
Fri 10 Aug Nunney
Fri 10 Aug Southwold
Fri 17 Aug Edington
Sat 18 Aug Capel
Thu 23 Aug Sturminster Newton
Thu 23 Aug Wickham
Fri 24 Aug Calder Vale
Fri 31 Aug East Grafton
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar