The Good Liar

Certificate 15

 

(2019) 109 mins

Director: Bill Condon
Writer: Jeffrey Hatcher, from the novel by Nicholas Searle
Cinematography: Tobias A Schliessler
Production Design: John Stevenson
Music: Carter Burwell

 

ABOUT

Consummate con man Roy Courtnay (Ian McKellen) has set his sights on his latest mark: the recently widowed Betty McLeish (Helen Mirren), worth millions. And Roy means to take it all.  From their very first meeting, Roy begins plying Betty with his tried and true manipulations, and Betty, who seems quite taken with him, is soon going along for the ride. But this time, what should have been a simple swindle escalates into a cat-and-mouse game with the ultimate stakes—revealing more insidious deceptions that will take them both through a minefield of danger, intrigue and betrayal.  From the official website

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5563334/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0

REVIEWS

McKellen and Mirren, sharing the screen for the first time, are exquisitely matched in this slight but enjoyable yarn, which is like watching two magnificent vintage cars in a road race, without minding too much who wins.”  Empire

“The sheer fun of watching the two leads playing off of each other helps give their scenes a charge that they might have lacked in other hands. For his part, Condon keeps things humming and offers up a well-staged suspense sequence set in the Charing Cross underground station to boot.”  rogerebert.com

Mirren and McKellen are in sparkling form and carry the film through to a satisfactory conclusion.”  UK Film Review

SHOWING TIMES
Sun 01 Mar Hambledon
Mon 02 Mar Neatishead
Tue 03 Mar Yetminster
Wed 04 Mar Churchinford
Thu 05 Mar Loddon
Thu 05 Mar Selsey
Thu 05 Mar St Arvans
Thu 05 Mar Titchfield
Fri 06 Mar Abbots Langley
Fri 06 Mar Faversham
Fri 06 Mar Mere
Fri 06 Mar Welborne
Sat 07 Mar Beare Green
Sun 08 Mar Chilworth
Sun 08 Mar Hethersett
Mon 09 Mar Shrewton
Wed 11 Mar Boscombe
Wed 11 Mar Bransgore
Wed 11 Mar Vernham Dean
Thu 12 Mar Burton Overy
Fri 13 Mar Blofield
Fri 13 Mar Chulmleigh
Fri 13 Mar Llanfair Kilgeddin
Sat 14 Mar Bawdeswell
Sat 14 Mar Cranleigh
Mon 16 Mar Long Stratton
Wed 18 Mar Motcombe
Fri 20 Mar Llanfyllin
Wed 25 Mar Mylor Bridge
Sat 28 Mar Brading
Fri 17 Apr Wicklewood
Sat 18 Apr Orkney: Hoy
Mon 20 Apr Beer
Thu 23 Apr Waterlooville
Fri 24 Apr Fordingbridge
Fri 24 Apr Usk
Fri 24 Apr Watton
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar