The Favourite

Certificate 15

 

(2018) 119 mins

Director: Yorgos Lanthimos
Writers: Deborah Davis, Tony McNamara
Cinematography: Robbie Ryan
Production Design: Fiona Crombie
Music: Komeil S Hosseini

 

ABOUT

Early 18th century England is at war with the French. Nevertheless, duck racing and pineapple eating are thriving. A frail Queen Anne (Olivia Colman) occupies the throne and her close friend Lady Sarah (Rachel Weisz) governs the country in her stead, while tending to Anne’s ill health and mercurial temper. When a new servant Abigail (Emma Stone) arrives, her charm endears her to Sarah. Sarah takes Abigail under her wing and Abigail sees a chance at a return to her aristocratic roots. As the politics of war become quite time consuming for Sarah, Abigail steps into the breach to fill in as the Queen’s companion. Their burgeoning friendship gives her a chance to fulfil her ambitions and she will not let woman, man, politics or rabbit stand in her way.  From the official website

Caution: Very strong language throughout

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5083738/?ref_=nv_sr_1

 

REVIEWS

This is not your average period drama. The perception of the genre – not helped by the obsessive adaptation of Jane Austen novels – is that it’s genteel and inoffensive. But prudish The Favourite is not . . .  We’ve been so conditioned to expect court/parlour intrigue dramas to be free of swearing and overt sexuality that the presence of both here feels almost anachronistic. But we forget that these periods were, in fact, as The Favourite depicts them: bawdy, bilious, ridden with gout and festering venereal diseases.”  The Independent

If the cruelty is breathtaking and the antagonistic interplay upon which the film is built divine, what’s perhaps most striking is how moving the story becomes – imbued with authentic emotion by a formidable triumvirate of female leads who propel their characters beyond comedy and caricature.”  Radio Times

“Fiendishly eccentric and entertaining.”  rogerebert.com

SHOWING TIMES
Thu 16 May Selsey
Thu 16 May Swafield
Fri 17 May Anmer
Fri 17 May Chepstow
Fri 17 May Hardington Mandeville
Fri 17 May Llanfyllin
Sat 18 May Orkney: Hoy
Mon 20 May Stourbridge
Wed 22 May Cwmyoy
Wed 22 May Whitchurch
Thu 23 May Cowbridge
Thu 23 May Downham Market
Thu 23 May Waterlooville
Thu 23 May Wickham
Thu 23 May Winterbourne Earls
Fri 24 May Abbots Langley
Fri 24 May Bickenhall
Fri 24 May Buckingham
Fri 24 May Eye
Fri 24 May South Petherton
Sat 25 May Marlingford
Thu 30 May Ixworth
Fri 31 May Bishopstone
Fri 31 May Boscombe
Fri 31 May Chandlers Ford
Fri 31 May Faversham
Fri 31 May Hilgay
Sat 01 Jun Buckingham
Sat 01 Jun Chandlers Ford
Tue 04 Jun Aldershot
Wed 05 Jun Codford St Peter
Thu 06 Jun Kingsbury Episcopi
Thu 06 Jun Loddon
Fri 07 Jun Hoxne
Fri 07 Jun Llanfoist
Fri 07 Jun Sheppey Blue Town
Sat 08 Jun Bawdeswell
Sat 08 Jun Denshaw
Sun 09 Jun Crowcombe
Mon 10 Jun Shrewton
Wed 12 Jun Vernham Dean
Fri 14 Jun Chard
Fri 14 Jun Shipston on Stour
Fri 14 Jun Stanton
Fri 14 Jun Tintern
Fri 14 Jun Wyverstone
Sat 15 Jun South Wonston
Tue 18 Jun Pewsey
Wed 19 Jun Warminster
Fri 21 Jun Bighton
Fri 21 Jun Colyton
Fri 21 Jun Stutton
Sat 22 Jun Langford Budville
Sat 22 Jun Rhoose
Wed 26 Jun Llandovery
Fri 28 Jun Ludham
Tue 09 Jul North Creake
Fri 12 Jul Nunney
Sat 13 Jul Beare Green
Tue 16 Jul Filby
Tue 16 Jul Petersfield
Wed 17 Jul Motcombe
Sat 20 Jul Halstock
Sat 20 Jul Weston Longville
Tue 23 Jul Membury
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar