Spitfire

Certificate PG

(2018) 99 mins

Directors: David Fairhead, Ant Palmer
Narrator: Charles Dance
Cinematography: John Collins
Music: Chris Roe

ABOUT

Credited with changing the course of world history, this is the story of the Spitfire – told personally in the words of the last-surviving combat veterans.  With breath-taking aerial footage from the world’s top aviation photographer John Dibbs and rare digitally re-mastered, archive footage from the tumultuous days of the 1940’s, when her power in the skies was unrivalled; all combined with a specially commissioned score by composer Chris Roe and an incredible soundscape of the famous Merlin engine, which makes this a striking and poignant film.

Narrated by Charles Dance.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt5913184/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

Since this documentary coincides with the 100th birthday of the RAF you would be forgiven for thinking it must have been cobbled together from the video library at the Imperial War Museum.  Guess what? You’re wrong.  It’s better than that.  Directors David Fairhead and Ant Palmer have succeeded in turning something that could have been as boring as an Open University history lesson into a labour of love, although the word “labour” makes it sound heavy when “a dancing fairy” was the description given by one of the ninetysomething ex pilots.”  Eye for Film

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 07 Sep Liphook
Sun 09 Sep Abbots Langley
Thu 11 Oct Southwold
Fri 12 Oct Penallt
Fri 19 Oct South Petherton
Thu 25 Oct Wickham
Fri 09 Nov Buckingham
Sat 10 Nov Syderstone
Sun 11 Nov Coton
Mon 12 Nov Emsworth
Wed 14 Nov Hanging Langford
Fri 16 Nov Chepstow
Sun 18 Nov Radstock
Tue 20 Nov Hythe
Thu 29 Nov Hawkley
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar