On the Basis of Sex

Certificate 12A

(2018) 120 mins

Director: Mimi Leder
Writer: Daniel Stiepleman
Cinematography: Michael Grady
Production Design: Nelson Coates
Music: Mychael Danna

 

ABOUT

On the Basis of Sex is inspired by the true story of a young Ruth Bader Ginsburg – then a struggling attorney and new mother – who faces adversity and numerous obstacles in her fight for equal rights throughout her career.  When Ruth (Felicity Jones) takes on a groundbreaking tax case with her husband, attorney Martin Ginsburg (Armie Hammer), she knows it could change the direction of her career and the way the courts view gender discrimination. The film also chronicles the storybook-like romance between Ruth and Marty, a partnership that succeeded both personally and professionally.  From the official website

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4669788/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

“It’s not a hugely innovative biopic, covering just a short period of Bader Ginsburg’s extraordinary career, but this is still a vastly inspiring account of the fight for equality.”  Empire

On the Basis of Sex does a brisk, coherent job of articulating what Ginsburg accomplished and why it mattered.”  New York Times

Subtlety isn’t this movie’s strong suit and it’s often needlessly chary about drawing the parallel between sexism and racism. But it’s got a worthwhile story to tell.”  The Guardian

“It’s a biting piece of herstory that we need right now.”  Austin Chronicle

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 10 May Chepstow
Fri 10 May Nayland
Fri 07 Jun Liphook
Sat 08 Jun Dinas Powys
Tue 11 Jun Coverack
Wed 12 Jun Sherborne
Sat 06 Jul Denshaw
Tue 09 Jul Aldershot
Tue 09 Jul Colerne
Wed 10 Jul Whitchurch
Fri 12 Jul Hiltingbury
Tue 16 Jul Hythe
Tue 16 Jul Petersfield
Thu 18 Jul Charmouth
Thu 18 Jul Stradbroke
Sat 27 Jul Boscombe
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar