On Chesil Beach

Certificate 15

(2017) 110 mins

Director: Dominic Cooke
Writer: Ian McEwan, from his own novel
Cinematography: Sean Bobbitt
Production Design: Suzie Davies
Music: Dan Jones

ABOUT

Adapted by Ian McEwan from his bestselling novel, the drama centers on Florence (Saoirse Ronan) and Edward (Billy Howle), a young couple of drastically different backgrounds in the summer of 1962. She is a talented and ambitious classical musician from a well-to-do family and he is a clever young man from humbler origins. Both have first-class degrees and, in consequence, no small opinion of themselves. Following the pair through their idyllic courtship, the film explores sex and the societal pressure that can accompany physical intimacy, leading to an awkward and fateful wedding night. Also starring Anne-Marie Duff and Adrian Scarborough as Edward’s parents, and Emily Watson and Samuel West as Florence’s.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1667321/?ref_=nv_sr_2

REVIEWS

The overwhelming English sadness of Ian McEwan’s novella has been transferred to the movie screen, adapted by the author and directed with scrupulous sensitivity and care by Dominic Cooke, known for his stage work and making his feature film debut here. It is a tender and valuable film, well acted, with a shrewd eye for how naive you can be in your early 20s, how impatient, how pompous, how tragicomically un-self-aware.”  The Guardian

The soundtrack perfectly mimics the stories of our leads, with rebellious rock‘n’roll battling against plaintive chamber music. A strong directorial debut from Cooke and consummate performances from Ronan and Howle deliver a restrained yet touching adaptation of McEwan’s work, which picks apart the dizzying highs, lonely lows and the cruel what-ifs of an unfulfilled love.”  The Upcoming

SHOWING TIMES
Thu 20 Sep Cowbridge
Fri 21 Sep South Petherton
Sat 22 Sep Netherbury
Tue 25 Sep Dereham
Tue 25 Sep Petersfield
Tue 02 Oct Membury
Thu 04 Oct Cranleigh
Thu 04 Oct St Arvans
Sat 06 Oct Banham
Sat 06 Oct Buckingham
Sat 06 Oct Colwinston
Mon 08 Oct Beaminster
Mon 08 Oct Emsworth
Tue 09 Oct Bourton
Fri 12 Oct Chulmleigh
Fri 12 Oct Tisbury
Sat 13 Oct Beare Green
Sun 14 Oct Fordingbridge
Mon 15 Oct Leigh
Mon 15 Oct Long Stratton
Wed 17 Oct Warminster
Thu 18 Oct Selsey
Thu 18 Oct Sturminster Newton
Fri 19 Oct Edington
Fri 19 Oct Frogham
Fri 19 Oct Hiltingbury
Fri 19 Oct Sheppey Blue Town
Fri 19 Oct Welborne
Sat 20 Oct Langford Budville
Thu 25 Oct Waterlooville
Fri 26 Oct Ashwellthorpe
Fri 26 Oct Chepstow
Fri 26 Oct Frettenham
Fri 26 Oct Norton Fitzwarren
Fri 26 Oct Thruxton
Sat 27 Oct Syderstone
Tue 30 Oct Winsford
Sat 10 Nov Hayle
Mon 12 Nov Shrewton
Fri 16 Nov Stutton
Sat 17 Nov Denshaw
Sat 17 Nov Niton
Mon 19 Nov Cerne Abbas
Wed 21 Nov Hadleigh
Thu 22 Nov Harleston
Fri 23 Nov Abbots Langley
Wed 28 Nov Grittleton
Wed 28 Nov Llandovery
Wed 28 Nov Whitchurch
Sat 01 Dec Orkney: Hoy
Sat 08 Dec Halstock
Fri 14 Dec Hilgay
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar