Mrs. Lowry and Son

Certificate PG

 

(2019) 91 mins

Director: Adrian Noble
Writer: Martyn Hesford
Cinematography: Josep M Civit
Production Design: Catrin Meredydd
Music: Craig Armstrong

 

ABOUT

L S Lowry (Timothy Spall) earned his living as a rent-collector and spent his free time producing paintings which are both instantly recognisable and greatly loved.  He was also a devoted carer to his bed-bound mother Elizabeth (Vanessa Redgrave), a woman embittered by the reduced circumstances in which they were living, and who never lost an opportunity to belittle his art.  Mrs. Lowry and Son is the story of their relationship.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt7590074/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0

REVIEWS

Mrs. Lowry and Son is by turns hilarious, brutal and tender, and like the best drama, it will leave you wondering what’s going on behind the closed doors of all the other houses in Pendlebury and further afield. How many other geniuses have created art in lonely attics and, unlike Lowry, never succeeded in breaking through, never become the focus of films, doomed instead to exist as mere smudges of colour lost in a crowd?”  Eye for Film

“An entertaining showcase for two first-class performers.  The Guardian

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 24 Jan Chepstow
Fri 24 Jan Kingston St Mary
Fri 24 Jan Watchet
Sat 25 Jan Denmead
Sat 25 Jan Langham
Fri 31 Jan Norton St Philip
Sat 01 Feb Orkney: St Margarets Hope
Sat 15 Feb Bothenhampton
Tue 25 Feb Dereham
Mon 02 Mar Stourbridge
Tue 03 Mar Petersfield
Fri 06 Mar Buriton
Fri 06 Mar Llanfoist
Fri 06 Mar Reedham
Fri 06 Mar South Wonston
Sat 07 Mar Denshaw
Wed 11 Mar Hadleigh
Wed 11 Mar Whitchurch
Fri 13 Mar Stanton
Fri 13 Mar Thompson
Wed 18 Mar Warminster
Fri 20 Mar Anmer
Fri 20 Mar Nayland
Fri 20 Mar Thorverton
Sat 21 Mar Halstock
Sat 21 Mar Syderstone
Wed 25 Mar Droxford
Fri 27 Mar South Petherton
Fri 03 Apr Abbots Langley
Fri 03 Apr Westbury-sub-Mendip
Sat 04 Apr Leavenheath
Tue 07 Apr Driftwood
Tue 07 Apr Llantwit Major
Sat 11 Apr Bawdeswell
Mon 13 Apr Porthallow
Fri 17 Apr Edington
Tue 21 Apr Pewsey
Thu 23 Apr Mere
Fri 24 Apr Faversham
Tue 28 Apr Aldershot
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar