Military Wives

Certificate 12A

(2019) 112 mins

Director: Peter Cattaneo
Writers: Rosanne Flynn, Rachel Tunnard
Cinematography: Hubert Taczanowski
Production Design: John Beard
Music: Lorne Balfe

 

ABOUT

When the men and women living on a military base in England ship off on their latest tour, the wives left at home need to find a way to  deal with the stress and get through the time until the tour of duty is completed.  Enter Colonel’s wife Kate (Kristin Scott Thomas). Struggling with her own recent tragedy, she decides to take on a bigger role in the choir activities that are primarily organized by Lisa (Sharon Horgan).  Whilst uptight Kate and laid-back Lisa frequently clash,  friendship, music and laughter help the members of the choir to overcome their fears for loved ones in combat.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8951692/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0

REVIEWS

“Granted, there are no narrative surprises as the women evolve from ragtag racket to performing at the Albert Hall. Yet as this familiar arc plays out, Cattaneo and writers Roseanne Flynn and Rachel Tunnard gently and sensitively offer small insights into the reality of being the partner stuck back home as a loved one risks daily injury, or even death, overseas. . . It would be a cynical heart that isn’t moved by the group’s daily heartbreaks and nagging anxieties, and indeed, their exhilarating moments of triumph.”  Empire

Military Wives may indeed be far from perfect (to say it flirts with cliche is to understate its enthusiastic commitment to contrivance), yet for all its manipulative flaws, this goodhearted tale of the partners of service personnel finding musical strength together works the kind of movie magic that will leave you laughing and crying, often against your better judgment.”  The Guardian

“If you’re looking for a feel-good film you won’t go wrong here.”  UK Film Review

SHOWING TIMES
Mon 07 Sep Neatishead
Wed 09 Sep Whitchurch
Thu 17 Sep Hanging Langford
Fri 18 Sep Stutton
Fri 25 Sep Halstock 
Fri 25 Sep Norton St Philip
Fri 25 Sep Watchet
Sat 26 Sep Halstock
Fri 02 Oct Sheppey Blue Town
Wed 07 Oct Churchinford
Fri 09 Oct Wood Dalling
Sat 10 Oct Bawdeswell
Mon 12 Oct Emsworth
Wed 14 Oct Holt
Fri 16 Oct Dunster
Sun 18 Oct Crowcombe
Thu 22 Oct Great Bedwyn
Fri 23 Oct Abbots Langley
Sat 24 Oct Denshaw
Sat 24 Oct Goathland
Fri 30 Oct Tisbury
Sun 01 Nov Hambledon
Thu 05 Nov Selsey
Fri 20 Nov Chepstow
Fri 20 Nov Hempnall
Fri 27 Nov Chandlers Ford
Sun 29 Nov Chandlers Ford
Tue 01 Dec Capel
Fri 04 Dec Stogumber
Wed 09 Dec Stockbridge
Fri 11 Dec Anmer
Fri 11 Dec Nunney
Fri 11 Dec Wookey Hole
Sat 12 Dec Langford Budville
Fri 18 Dec West Camel
Sat 19 Dec Caistor

 

WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar