Madame

Certificate 15

(2017) 91 mins

Director: Amanda Sthers
Writer: Amanda Sthers
Cinematography: Régis Blondeau
Production Design: Herald Najar
Music: Matthieu Gonet

ABOUT

Adding a little spice to a waning marriage, Anne (Toni Collette) and Bob (Harvey Keitel), a wealthy and well-connected American couple, move into a manor house in romantic Paris. While preparing a particularly luxurious dinner for sophisticated international friends, our hostess discovers there are 13 guests. Panic-stricken, Anne insists her loyal maid Maria (Rossy de Palma) disguise herself as a mysterious Spanish noblewoman to even out the numbers. But a little too much wine and some playful chat lead Maria to accidentally endear herself to a dandy British artbroker (Michael Smiley). Their budding romance will have Anne chasing her maid around Paris and finally plotting to destroy this most unexpected and joyous love affair.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6045466/?ref_=nv_sr_3

REVIEWS

The script is cleverly done, the key relationships well and economically drawn; and while this is clearly comedy, it does not pull its punches when it comes to taking apart privilege and pretension.”  Eye for Film

“Toni Collette as Anne borders on perfection in her portrayal of a woman whose wit, charm and ruthlessness provide cover for an inner emptiness. In short, she’s an absolute monster and Collette plays her brilliantly. Rossy de Palma, a past muse of Spanish director Pedro Almodovar, is similarly wonderful as Maria, a warm and vulnerable counterpart to her domineering boss. Sthers demonstrates a sure hand throughout, in casting and plotting, delivering a compelling tale of love and betrayal.”  Toronto Star

The statuesque Spanish actress has such an arresting screen presence that it’s no wonder Almodovar has made her his muse. Her comic flair and unusual sexiness is on such display here that Maria’s appeal to the straitlaced Brit seems perfectly natural.”  Hollywood Reporter

SHOWING TIMES
Sat 05 Jan Leavenheath
Thu 10 Jan Bonvilston
Mon 14 Jan Porthallow
Wed 16 Jan Boscombe
Mon 21 Jan Stourbridge
Tue 22 Jan Petersfield
Fri 01 Feb Dunster
Fri 08 Feb Poringland
Tue 12 Feb Yetminster
Thu 14 Feb Wookey Hole
Sat 16 Feb Weston Longville
Tue 19 Feb Pewsey
Fri 22 Feb Chepstow
Sat 23 Feb Ashwellthorpe
Wed 27 Feb Mylor Bridge
Fri 29 Mar Usk
Sun 14 Apr Crowcombe
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar