Lady Bird

Certificate 15

(2017) 94 mins

Director: Greta Gerwig
Writer: Greta Gerwig
Cinematography: Sam Levy
Production Design: Chris Jones
Music: Jon Brion

ABOUT

In Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig reveals herself to be a bold new cinematic voice with her directorial debut, excavating both the humor and pathos in the turbulent bond between a mother and her teenage daughter. Christine “Lady Bird” McPherson (Saoirse Ronan) fights against but is exactly like her wildly loving, deeply opinionated and strong-willed mom (Laurie Metcalf), a nurse working tirelessly to keep her family afloat after Lady Bird’s father (Tracy Letts) loses his job. Set in Sacramento, California in 2002, amidst a rapidly shifting American economic landscape, Lady Bird is an affecting look at the relationships that shape us, the beliefs that define us, and the unmatched beauty of a place called home.  From the official website

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4925292/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

Scripted by Gerwig with a deft balance of laudable wit and authentic angst, the film brilliantly depicts the adolescent tendency to rail against everything and anything, and it’s remarkable how heartfelt each and every moment feels, without the film once descending into sentimentality. Both that and Gerwig’s refusal to tie things up in a neat movie bow are a satisfying nod to its true-life origins. This is a loveable, colourful and largely convention-defying portrait of an endearing eccentric who, despite her protestations, holds her hometown dearer than she realises.”  Radio Times

Gerwig is known for her memorable performance in Frances Ha and other works with her partner Noah Baumbach. This is her first outing as a director and it can only be described as the high side of triumph.”  Eye for Film

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 07 Sep Llanfoist
Mon 10 Sep Emsworth
Fri 14 Sep Nunney
Fri 14 Sep Tintern
Sat 15 Sep Bulwark, Chepstow
Fri 21 Sep Harrold
Sat 22 Sep Martock
Thu 04 Oct Hawkley
Thu 04 Oct Titchfield
Wed 10 Oct Hanging Langford
Thu 11 Oct Wookey Hole
Fri 12 Oct Llanfyllin
Tue 16 Oct Filby
Tue 23 Oct Alton Barnes
Tue 23 Oct Cwmyoy
Thu 08 Nov Llancarfan
Sat 10 Nov Colwinston
Tue 13 Nov Norton sub Hamdon
Sat 17 Nov Radstock
Thu 22 Nov Owslebury
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar