Goodbye Christopher Robin

Certificate PG

(2017) 107 mins

Director: Simon Curtis
Writers: Frank Cottrell Boyce, Simon Vaughan
Cinematography: Ben Smithard
Production Design: David Roger
Music: Carter Burwell

ABOUT

A rare glimpse into the relationship between beloved children’s author A. A. Milne (Domhnall Gleeson) and his son Christopher Robin (Will Tilston, Alex Lawther), whose toys inspired the magical world of Winnie the Pooh. Along with his mother Daphne (Margot Robbie), and his nanny Olive (Kelly Macdonald), Christopher Robin and his family are swept up in the international success of the books; the enchanting tales bringing hope and comfort to England after the First World War. But with the eyes of the world on Christopher Robin, what will the cost be to the family?  Fox Searchlight Pictures

Despite the PG classification, this is not a children’s film.  Rather in the manner of Saving Mr Banks, it explores some quite dark themes.

 

 

REVIEWS

You may have formed cosy impressions of this film based on its title and syrupy trailer, a vision involving charming rhymes, familiar teddy bears and a caring nanny. After all, we’ve seen enough of these beloved-author biopics to know the beats of the genre. Yet Goodbye Christopher Robin moves far away from the glossy whimsy of Miss Potter or nostalgia of Finding NeverlandIt reveals that the little family behind Winnie-the-Pooh was badly damaged, and the idyll depicted in those books only a momentary respite from their grief and trauma. Tiddely-pom.  The Telegraph

“Thanks to the contribution of young master Tilston (and indeed Alex Lawther who also makes an impact as the bristling teenage Christopher Robin), this remains a startling and affecting rendering of the incalculable cost of a lost childhood.”  Radio Times

 

SHOWING TIMES
Mon 26 Feb Emsworth
Mon 26 Feb Stanhoe
Tue 27 Feb Marnhull
Wed 28 Feb Coton
Wed 28 Feb Grittleton
Thu 01 Mar Royal Wootton Bassett
Fri 02 Mar Buckingham
Fri 02 Mar Chepstow
Sat 03 Mar Denshaw
Sun 04 Mar Hambledon
Mon 05 Mar Neatishead
Mon 05 Mar Sprowston
Mon 05 Mar Stourbridge
Wed 07 Mar Driftwood Cinema
Wed 07 Mar Kilmington
Thu 08 Mar Brundish
Fri 09 Mar Combe St Nicholas
Fri 09 Mar Penallt
Fri 09 Mar Poringland
Fri 09 Mar Shipston on Stour
Fri 09 Mar Tintern
Sat 10 Mar Bawdeswell
Sat 10 Mar Dinas Powys
Mon 12 Mar Beaminster
Wed 14 Mar Bransgore
Wed 14 Mar Sherborne
Fri 16 Mar Alburgh
Fri 16 Mar Brockenhurst
Fri 16 Mar Cheddon & West Monkton
Fri 16 Mar Edington
Sat 17 Mar Downton
Sat 17 Mar Halstock
Mon 19 Mar Cerne Abbas
Mon 19 Mar Long Stratton
Wed 21 Mar Motcombe
Wed 21 Mar Vernham Dean
Fri 23 Mar Abbots Langley
Fri 23 Mar Bickenhall
Fri 23 Mar Collingbourne Ducis
Sat 24 Mar Ashwellthorpe
Sat 24 Mar Bramley
Sat 24 Mar Buckingham
Sat 24 Mar Syderstone
Wed 28 Mar Cwmyoy
Wed 28 Mar Whitchurch
Thu 29 Mar Downham Market
Thu 29 Mar Milland
Wed 04 Apr Churchinford
Fri 06 Apr Chandlers Ford
Fri 06 Apr South Petherton
Sat 07 Apr Old Buckenham
Mon 09 Apr Aldershot
Tue 10 Apr Castle Cary
Fri 13 Apr Eye
Sat 14 Apr Hinton St George
Sat 21 Apr Somerton
Wed 25 Apr Holt
Wed 25 Apr Mylor Bridge
Thu 26 Apr Croscombe
Thu 26 Apr Waterlooville
Thu 26 Apr Wickham
Sat 28 Apr Kingston
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar