Emma.

BBFC PG Certificate

(2020) 124 mins

Director: Autumn de Wilde
Writer: Eleanor Catton, from the novel by Jane Austen
Cinematography: Christopher Blauvelt
Production Design: Kave Quinn
Music: David Schweitzer, Isobel Waller-Bridge

 

ABOUT

A sparkling new version of Jane Austen’s beloved comedy about finding your equal and earning your happy ending. Handsome, clever, and rich, Emma Woodhouse (Anya Taylor-Joy) is a restless queen bee without rivals in her small community. Convinced of her own perspicacity, and determined to arrange a suitable match for her friend Harriet (Mia Goth), Emma consistently misreads the people around her and makes a series of mistakes before finding the love that has been there all along. With Bill Nighy as Mr Woodhouse and Johnny Flynn as Mr Knightey.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9214832/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_7

REVIEWS

It would be easy to say, with a film weighing so heavily on the attitudes and performance of its leading lady, that the wonderfully talented Anya Taylor-Joy carries the film home. Without question she does, but in this case it is a collection of outstanding performances by the excellently-cast ensemble that carries the picture to the pedestal of brilliance. The collective effort of the entire cast, which includes the likes of Bill Nighy, Miranda Hart, Josh O’Connor, Gemma Whelan and Tanya Reynolds, to name a few, catapults what could be yet another feature-length version of this strangely plotless Austen classic into a fabulously wild and humorous, yet well-structured and calculated film.”  The Upcoming

Witty, wry, spry, and deliciously and effortlessly romantic, this is Austen as she is supposed to be.”  Austin Chronicle

SHOWING TIMES
Thu 03 Sep Selsey
Sun 06 Sep Hethersett
Sun 13 Sep Crowcombe
Wed 16 Sep Motcombe
Wed 23 Sep Coton
Fri 25 Sep Dummer
Fri 25 Sep West Camel
Sat 26 Sep Denshaw
Sat 26 Sep Orkney: St Margaret’s Hope
Wed 30 Sep Droxford
Thu 01 Oct St Arvans
Sun 04 Oct Hambledon
Mon 05 Oct Hawkchurch
Mon 05 Oct Neatishead
Wed 07 Oct Whitchurch
Fri 09 Oct Chulmleigh
Fri 09 Oct Wookey Hole
Fri 16 Oct Halstock
Fri 16 Oct Nunney
Fri 16 Oct Sheppey Blue Town
Sat 17 Oct Halstock
Fri 23 Oct Chepstow
Wed 28 Oct Grittleton
Fri 30 Oct Chandlers Ford
Fri 30 Oct South Petherton
Sun 01 Nov Chandlers Ford
Tue 03 Nov Capel
Fri 20 Nov Abbots Langley
Thu 26 Nov Wickham
Fri 27 Nov Dunster
Fri 27 Nov Tisbury
Thu 10 Dec Hanging Langford
Mon 14 Dec Emsworth
Wed 16 Dec South Warnborough
Thu 17 Dec Stradbroke
Sat 19 Dec Greywell
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar