Edie

tbc

(2017) 102 mins

Director: Simon Hunter
Writers: Simon Hunter, from a story by Edward Lynden-Bell
Cinematography: August Jakobsson
Production Design: Chris Richmond
Music: Debbie Wiseman

ABOUT

“It’s never too late.”

Edie (Sheila Hancock) has spent 30 years caring for her husband in a loveless marriage.  Suddenly liberated by his demise, and filled with bitterness for her “wasted years”, she foils her daughter’s plan to put her in a care home and heads to Scotland to fulfil a long-held ambition to climb Mount Suilven.  Once there she enlists the help of local guide Jonny (Kevin Guthrie), who only agrees because he doesn’t believe she will go through with the plan.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3823098/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_3

REVIEWS

“The dynamic between Hancock and Guthrie is wonderful to behold, their bickering producing plenty of humorous moments as Edie and Jonny suss each other out and build trust in one another. The film is set in the Scottish highlands, with the scenery playing an important role in the film. Long shots of the mountains and expanse of the remote, brutal, yet romantic wilderness convey the difficult task at hand, but also the loneliness Edie feels – and has felt – in her life. Hunter and cinematographer August Jakobson find interesting ways to shoot that digs into – and expresses – the pathos at the the centre of the film.”  CineVue

At its best when emphasising the humans at its heart, this is a familiar story arc, lent considerable added weight by Hancock’s intense performance and her onscreen chemistry with Guthrie.”  Eye for Film

“Boasting two incredibly tender performances, Simon Hunter’s upbeat Scottish ramble not only showcases Scotland in all its vast rugged beauty, but does a wonderful job at challenging our social stereotypes of ageing and friendship within society.”  Movie Review World

SHOWING TIMES
Sat 16 Jun Halstock
Mon 18 Jun Long Stratton
Tue 19 Jun Hythe
Fri 22 Jun The Narth
Fri 22 Jun Watchet
Thu 05 Jul Titchfield
Sat 14 Jul Bawdeswell
Sat 14 Jul Dinas Powys
Sun 15 Jul Fordingbridge
Wed 18 Jul Warminster
Fri 20 Jul Buckingham
Mon 23 Jul Emsworth
Wed 25 Jul Oliver’s Battery
Thu 26 Jul Wickham
Fri 27 Jul Allerford
Fri 27 Jul Southwold
Sat 28 Jul Orkney: St Margaret’s Hope
Fri 10 Aug Hiltingbury
Sat 11 Aug Denshaw
Fri 17 Aug Colyton
Sat 18 Aug Bothenhampton
Sat 18 Aug Orkney: Hoy
Fri 31 Aug Frettenham
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar