Dunkirk

Certificate 12A

(2017) 106 mins

Director: Christopher Nolan
Writer: Christopher Nolan
Cinematography: Hoyte van Hoytema
Production Design: Nathan Crowley
Music: Hans Zimmer

ABOUT

May/June 1940. 400,000 British soldiers are holed up in the French port town of Dunkirk. The only way out is via sea, and the Germans have air superiority, bombing the British soldiers and ships without much opposition. The situation looks dire and, in desperation, Britain sends civilian boats to try to evacuate the beleaguered forces. This is that story, seen through the eyes of a soldier amongst those trapped forces, two RAF fighter pilots and a group of civilians on their boat, part of the evacuation fleet.

The fantastic cast includes Mark Rylance, Kenneth Branagh, Cillian Murphy and Tom Hardy.

REVIEWS

Visceral, immersive, intense, involving, harrowing, powerful, unforgettable… These are some of the adjective to describe Christopher Nolan’s Dunkirk, whose explosive action is condensed into a powderkeg of a movie. Nolan has taken a non-linear approach, using time as a tool to incorporate a holistic approach, grappling with three story strands – on land, sea and in the air. During the tight 106 minute running time, our emotions are tightly coiled and the film’s massive scale is countered by the minutiae that it perfectly showcases.”  Urban Cinefile

Dunkirk the event may have been “a colossal military disaster” according to Churchill, but Dunkirk the movie is a glorious, breathtakingly vivid triumph from a director at the top of his game.”  Radio Times

SHOWING TIMES
Tue 02 Jan Wells next the Sea
Wed 03 Jan Churchinford
Thu 04 Jan Royal Wootton Bassett
Fri 05 Jan Llanfoist
Fri 05 Jan South Petherton
Sun 07 Jan Hethersett
Sun 07 Jan Liss
Mon 08 Jan Beaminster
Mon 08 Jan Emsworth
Mon 08 Jan Hawkchurch
Mon 08 Jan Odcombe
Mon 08 Jan Sprowston
Wed 10 Jan Whitchurch
Thu 11 Jan Bonvilston
Thu 11 Jan Hawkley
Thu 11 Jan Mere
Thu 11 Jan Selsey
Fri 12 Jan Chard
Fri 12 Jan Colyton
Fri 12 Jan Combe St Nicholas
Fri 12 Jan East Stour
Fri 12 Jan Eye
Fri 12 Jan Llancarfan
Fri 12 Jan Llanfair Kilgeddin
Fri 12 Jan Poringland
Fri 12 Jan Sheppey Blue Town
Fri 12 Jan Watchet
Sat 13 Jan Broomfield
Sat 13 Jan Colwinston
Sat 13 Jan Dinas Powys
Sat 13 Jan Niton
Sat 13 Jan Orkney: Hoy
Mon 15 Jan Aldershot
Mon 15 Jan Long Stratton
Tue 16 Jan Hythe
Tue 16 Jan Newton Flotman
Wed 17 Jan East Stratton
Wed 17 Jan Motcombe
Wed 17 Jan South Warnborough
Thu 18 Jan Chilworth
Thu 18 Jan Horton
Thu 18 Jan Owslebury
Thu 18 Jan Stoke Bruerne
Fri 19 Jan Alburgh
Fri 19 Jan Brockenhurst
Fri 19 Jan Dunster
Fri 19 Jan Felton
Fri 19 Jan Odiham
Fri 19 Jan Stutton
Fri 19 Jan Winterslow
Sat 20 Jan Hilmarton
Sun 21 Jan Nether Stowey
Tue 23 Jan Petersfield
Tue 23 Jan Winsford
Wed 24 Jan Cwmyoy
Thu 25 Jan Cowbridge
Thu 25 Jan Wickham
Fri 26 Jan Allerford
Fri 26 Jan Collingbourne Ducis
Fri 26 Jan Frettenham
Fri 26 Jan Llanfyllin
Fri 26 Jan Ludham
Fri 26 Jan Reepham
Fri 26 Jan Thornham Magna
Fri 26 Jan Undy
Sat 27 Jan Bramley
Sat 27 Jan Denmead
Sun 28 Jan Lockeridge
Tue 30 Jan Castle Cary
Wed 31 Jan Droxford
Fri 02 Feb Thruxton
Sat 03 Feb Leavenheath
Mon 05 Feb Neatishead
Fri 09 Feb Chulmleigh
Fri 09 Feb Garvestone & Thuxton
Fri 09 Feb Hoxne
Fri 09 Feb Milborne Port
Fri 09 Feb Welborne
Sat 10 Feb Old Buckenham
Sun 11 Feb Crowcombe
Tue 13 Feb North Creake
Wed 14 Feb Driftwood Cinema
Fri 16 Feb Brisley
Sat 17 Feb Alderbury
Sat 17 Feb Marlingford
Tue 20 Feb Pewsey
Thu 22 Feb Downham Market
Thu 22 Feb Milland
Fri 23 Feb Abbots Langley
Fri 23 Feb East Meon
Fri 23 Feb Hursley
Sat 24 Feb Brading
Sat 24 Feb Rhoose
Tue 27 Feb Boscombe
Wed 28 Feb Holt
Thu 01 Mar St Arvans
Sat 03 Mar Halstock
Wed 07 Mar Reedham
Fri 16 Mar Wicklewood
Fri 23 Mar The Narth
Fri 23 Mar West Camel
Thu 05 Apr Loddon
Tue 10 Apr Colerne
Wed 11 Apr Thornham
Wed 25 Apr Llandovery
Sat 28 Apr Doulting
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar