Blinded by the Light

Certificate 12A

(2019) 117 mins

Director: Gurinder Chadha
Writers: Paul Mayeda Burges, Gurinder Chadha
Cinematography: Ben Smithard
Production Design: Nick Ellis
Music: A R Rahman

 

ABOUT

The story of Javed (Viveik Kalra), a British teen of Pakistani descent, growing up in Luton in 1987. Amidst the racial and economic turmoil of the times, he writes poetry as a means to escape the intolerance of his hometown and the inflexibility of his traditional father.  But when his classmate Roops (Aaron Phagura) introduces him to the music of “The Boss,” Javed sees parallels to his working-class life in Springsteen’s powerful lyrics. As Javed discovers a cathartic outlet for his own pent-up dreams, he also begins to find the courage to express himself in his own unique voice.  Based on the best-selling book by Sarfraz Manzoor, directed by Bend It Like Beckham’s Gurinder Chadha, this rousing film has universal appeal for all audiences—young and old alike. Using Bruce Springsteen’s music as a foundation, this film is for anyone who felt like they don’t belong and then dared to dream!

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8266310/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

You’ll recognize many aspects of this true story from other coming-of-age films. We’ve seen practical dads who disapprove of passionate pursuits before, and quiet guys finally getting the girl. But Chadha just does it better. More magically. She’s also found a miracle in Kalra.  A relative newcomer with only a few credits, the actor has off-the-charts likability with the chops to match. Javed and Springsteen are the souls of this movie, and it’s a testament to Kalra’s ability and positive energy that he grabs our hearts as much as the Boss’ music does. This film will make him a star.”  New York Post

“A Technicolor ode to the power of music so deeply tender and heartfelt that it disarms even the most misanthropic critic’s instincts.”  Entertainment Weekly

Kalra’s star-making performance gets you to root for him instantly.”  rogerebert.com

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 03 Jan Buckingham
Wed 08 Jan Fontmell Magna
Wed 08 Jan Framlingham
Fri 10 Jan Hoxne
Fri 10 Jan South Petherton
Fri 10 Jan The Narth
Fri 10 Jan Tintern
Sat 11 Jan Beare Green
Thu 16 Jan Ditcheat
Fri 17 Jan Alburgh
Wed 22 Jan Compton
Thu 23 Jan Horton
Thu 23 Jan Waterlooville
Wed 29 Jan Oliver’s Battery
Fri 31 Jan Abbots Langley
Sun 09 Feb Chilworth
Fri 14 Feb Nunney
Fri 21 Feb Llandogo
Fri 28 Feb Sheppey Blue Town
Tue 10 Mar North Creake
Thu 12 Mar Bonvilston
Fri 13 Mar Shipston-on-Stour
Sat 28 Mar Colwinston
Fri 03 Apr Llanfoist
Thu 23 Apr Harleston

 

WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar