Another Mother’s Son

Certificate 12A

(2017) 103 mins

Director: Christopher Menaul
Writers: Jenny Lecoat
Cinematography: Sam Care
Production Design: Adrian Smith
Music: Mario Grigorov

ABOUT
Based on the true story of Louisa Gould, the drama is set during World War II on the Nazi-occupied island of Jersey. Lou (Jenny Seagrove) takes in an escaped Russian POW (Julian Kostov) and hides him over the war’s course. The tension mounts as it becomes clear that Churchill will not risk an assault to recapture the British soil, and the island-community spirit begins to fray under pressures of hunger, occupation and divided loyalty. Against this backdrop, Lou fights to preserve her family’s sense of humanity and to protect the Russian boy as if he was her own.
For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt5193790/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

REVIEWS

“At first, there is a bit of a familiar taste to this true-life wartime tale. But it becomes something tougher. The film is, moreover, an interesting reminder of something that the British prefer to overlook as something that doesn’t quite fit into the Churchillian narrative of never surrendering: the Nazi occupation of British territory – the Channel Islands. It wasn’t just the French who suffered the misery of occupation, and the sordid nightmare of people pursuing petty grudges with anonymous letters to the Nazi authorities. Jenny Seagrove gives a fierce and capable performance as Louisa Gould, a Jersey woman who hid a fugitive Russian slave-worker, nicknamed Bill. John Hannah, Nicholas Farrell and – unexpectedly – Ronan Keating take supporting roles as islanders. A decent, heartfelt, robustly presented drama.”  The Guardian

Based on the true story of Louisa Gould and adapted from a book by Louisa’s great niece Jenny Lecoat, the film is a tale of hope, compassion and motherly love. Despite its very worthy message and very touching account, the movie falls short of convincing as a period piece. Mostly let down by a flimsy dialogue and overly expositional narrative, Another Mother’s Son could also do with being a little shorter. Having said that, Seagrove and the rest of the cast, which also includes singer Ronan Keating, do their very best even if they are ultimately let down by a poorly thought out plot.”  The London Economic

 

 

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 01 Sep South Petherton
Mon 04 Sep Neatishead
Wed 06 Sep Kilmington
Thu 07 Sep Royal Wootton Bassett
Sat 09 Sep Chilworth
Wed 20 Sep Warminster
Wed 27 Sep Whitchurch
Fri 29 Sep Frettenham
Fri 29 Sep Ludham
Sat 07 Oct Denshaw
Sat 07 Oct Westleton
Tue 10 Oct Bourton
Fri 13 Oct Sheppey Blue Town
Sat 14 Oct Niton
Wed 18 Oct Calne
Wed 18 Oct Thornham
Fri 20 Oct Brisley
Fri 20 Oct Tisbury
Fri 20 Oct Wicklewood
Sat 21 Oct Nether Stowey
Thu 26 Oct Wickham
Fri 27 Oct Thruxton
Fri 03 Nov Liphook
Fri 10 Nov Nunney
Fri 10 Nov Watchet
Mon 13 Nov Shrewton
Tue 14 Nov Petersfield
Thu 16 Nov Great Massingham
Fri 17 Nov Alburgh
Fri 17 Nov Cheddon & West Monkton
Fri 17 Nov Coverack
Fri 17 Nov Edington
Sun 19 Nov Fordingbridge 
Thu 23 Nov Harleston
Fri 24 Nov Hilgay
Tue 28 Nov Castle Cary
Fri 08 Dec Buriton
Tue 19 Dec Hythe
Thu 28 Dec Waterlooville
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter

Skip to toolbar