All Is True

Certificate 12A

(2018) 101 mins

Director: Kenneth Branagh
Writer: Ben Elton
Cinematography: Zac Nicholson
Production Design: James Merifield
Music: Patrick Doyle

 

ABOUT

The year is 1613, and Shakespeare (Kenneth Branagh) is acknowledged as the greatest writer of the age. But disaster strikes when his renowned Globe Theatre burns to the ground, and devastated, Shakespeare returns to Stratford, where he must face a troubled past and a neglected family. Haunted by the death of his only son Hamnet, he struggles to mend the broken relationships with his wife Anne (Judi Dench) and daughters Susannah (Lydia Wilson) and Judith (Kathryn Wilder). In so doing, he is ruthlessly forced to examine his own failings as husband and father. His very personal search for the truth uncovers secrets and lies within a family at war.  With Ian McKellen as the Earl of Southampton.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9206798/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

“It’s the absence of grandstanding, of Stoppardian showing off, that makes this film different, as a lovely meditation on what parts of a man’s legacy truly matter. It takes a while to settle into Branagh’s performance, perhaps because the cosmetic job and bald pate give him a peculiar resemblance to Ben Kingsley. Rarely has he seemed so hidden inside.”  The Telegraph

Films about Shakespeare’s life have ranged from the delightfully frivolous (Shakespeare In Love) to the historically outrageous (Anonymous). But longtime Bard-botherer Kenneth Branagh has taken a more personal, meditative approach, building a closely observed family drama on the little that we know about history’s greatest playwright.”  Empire

“Branagh’s performance is a minor miracle, building a poignant portrait of a man whose painful and belated acquisition of self-knowledge finally saves him and enriches everybody around him. If Shakespeare wasn’t like this, he should have been.”  Sydney Morning Herald

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 06 Sep Chepstow
Fri 06 Sep Hardington Mandeville
Fri 06 Sep Kingston St Mary
Fri 06 Sep Liphook
Fri 06 Sep Llanfoist
Tue 10 Sep North Creake
Fri 13 Sep Penallt
Fri 13 Sep South Petherton
Sat 14 Sep Bawdeswell
Mon 16 Sep Leigh
Fri 20 Sep Harrold
Tue 24 Sep Winsford
Wed 25 Sep Holt
Thu 26 Sep Ixworth
Thu 26 Sep Wootton Fitzpaine
Tue 01 Oct Bradford on Avon
Wed 02 Oct Codford St Peter
Wed 02 Oct Kilmington
Thu 03 Oct Loddon
Thu 03 Oct Royal Wootton Bassett
Sat 05 Oct Banham
Sat 05 Oct Niton
Sun 06 Oct Hambledon
Thu 10 Oct Mere
Fri 11 Oct Bighton
Fri 11 Oct Poringland
Tue 15 Oct Coverack
Sat 19 Oct Somerton
Sat 19 Oct Tittleshall
Fri 25 Oct Catbrook
Fri 25 Oct East Meon
Fri 25 Oct Holwell
Fri 25 Oct Peterston super Ely
Sat 26 Oct Denshaw
Sat 26 Oct Kingston
Fri 08 Nov Nunney
Fri 08 Nov Tintern
Wed 13 Nov Fontmell Magna
Sat 16 Nov Halstock
Fri 22 Nov Sheppey Blue Town
Fri 22 Nov Undy
Mon 25 Nov Emsworth
Wed 27 Nov Boscombe
Mon 02 Dec Sprowston
Fri 06 Dec Llanfyllin
Sat 21 Dec Denmead
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar