A Private War

Certificate 15

(2018) 110 mins

Director: Matthew Heineman
Writer: Marie Brenner
Cinematography: Robert Richardson
Production Design: Sophie Becher
Music: H Scott Salinas

 

ABOUT

Marie Colvin (played here by Rosamund Pike) is one of the most celebrated war correspondents of our time. After being hit by a grenade in Sri Lanka, she wore a distinctive eye patch and was still as comfortable sipping martinis with London’s elite as she was confronting dictators. Colvin sacrificed loving relationships, and over time, her personal life started to unravel as the trauma she’d witnessed took its toll. Yet, her mission to show the true cost of war led her – along with renowned war photographer Paul Conroy (Jamie Dornan) – to embark on the most dangerous assignment of their lives in the besieged Syrian city of Homs.  From the official website

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2368254/?ref_=nv_sr_1

REVIEWS

The success of the film undeniably rests in the hands of Pike, who takes on the scrupulous task of embodying the famed civil war journalist, from her appearance, to her mannerisms, to her voice. Unsurprisingly, the lead actress knocks it out of the park, becoming Colvin in a powerfully haunting performance.”  The Upcoming

“A blistering biographical portrait exploring a life spent amid the carnage of the world’s troubled hot spots – and the psychological impact of witnessing so much suffering.”  Radio Times

“Pike is mesmerising.”  The Spectator

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 10 May South Petherton
Fri 10 May Tisbury
Fri 10 May Titchfield
Mon 13 May Shrewton
Wed 15 May Warminster
Fri 24 May Watchet
Thu 13 Jun Bonvilston
Thu 13 Jun Selsey
Fri 14 Jun Nether Wallop
Sat 15 Jun Downton
Tue 18 Jun Faversham
Wed 19 Jun Stockbridge
Wed 19 Jun Whitchurch
Mon 24 Jun Emsworth
Thu 27 Jun Peterston super Ely
Mon 01 Jul Stourbridge
Wed 03 Jul Codford St Peter
Wed 10 Jul Boscombe
Wed 17 Jul South Warnborough
Sat 27 Jul Denmead
Wed 14 Aug Bransgore
Sat 17 Aug Denshaw
Sat 24 Aug Syderstone
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar