1917

Certificate 15

(2019) 119 mins

Director: Sam Mendes
Writer: Sam Mendes, Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Cinematography: Roger Deakins
Production Design: Dennis Gassner
Music: Thomas Newman

 

ABOUT

At the height of the First World War, two young British soldiers, Schofield (George MacKay) and Blake (Dean-Charles Chapman) are given a seemingly impossible mission. In a race against time, they must cross enemy territory and deliver a message that will stop a deadly attack on hundreds of soldiers—Blake’s own brother among them.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8579674/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0

REVIEWS

Mendes, working with young screenwriter Kyrsty Wilson-Cairns, should be lauded for his boldness; there may be some initial structural issues, but the film does not fall short in its audacity, or in its honour of the 40 million who lost their lives in this futile fight.”  Screen Daily

Almost everything you’ve ever seen in a war film is here. But never quite like this. It is very much a stylistic exercise, but if you’re going to do that, you have to really go for it. And 1917 really, really goes for it.”  Empire

“This phantasmagoric first world war nightmare from the British director is ambitious and unshakeable storytelling.”  The Guardian

SHOWING TIMES
Thu 02 Apr Selsey
Mon 06 Apr Sprowston
Wed 08 Apr Ystradowen
Fri 10 Apr Chepstow
Wed 15 Apr Geldeston
Thu 16 Apr Hanging Langford
Thu 16 Apr Hawkley
Fri 17 Apr South Petherton
Fri 17 Apr Sparham
Fri 17 Apr Steep
Fri 17 Apr Stutton
Sat 18 Apr Greywell
Mon 20 Apr Stourbridge
Tue 21 Apr Newton Flotman
Wed 22 Apr Boscombe
Wed 22 Apr Whitchurch
Fri 24 Apr Abbots Langley
Fri 24 Apr Fordingbridge
Fri 24 Apr Frettenham
Fri 24 Apr Ludham
Fri 24 Apr The Narth
Fri 24 Apr Watchet
Sat 25 Apr Bighton
Sat 25 Apr Kingston
Sat 25 Apr Niton
Mon 27 Apr Upper Clatford
Wed 29 Apr Oliver’s Battery
Fri 24 Apr Milborne Port

 

WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar