1917

BBFC 15 Certificate

(2019) 119 mins

Director: Sam Mendes
Writer: Sam Mendes, Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Cinematography: Roger Deakins
Production Design: Dennis Gassner
Music: Thomas Newman

 

ABOUT

At the height of the First World War, two young British soldiers, Schofield (George MacKay) and Blake (Dean-Charles Chapman) are given a seemingly impossible mission. In a race against time, they must cross enemy territory and deliver a message that will stop a deadly attack on hundreds of soldiers—Blake’s own brother among them.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8579674/?ref_=nv_sr_srsg_0

REVIEWS

Mendes, working with young screenwriter Kyrsty Wilson-Cairns, should be lauded for his boldness; there may be some initial structural issues, but the film does not fall short in its audacity, or in its honour of the 40 million who lost their lives in this futile fight.”  Screen Daily

Almost everything you’ve ever seen in a war film is here. But never quite like this. It is very much a stylistic exercise, but if you’re going to do that, you have to really go for it. And 1917 really, really goes for it.”  Empire

“This phantasmagoric first world war nightmare from the British director is ambitious and unshakeable storytelling.”  The Guardian

SHOWING TIMES
Sun 06 Sep Hambledon
Wed 23 Sep Stalbridge
Fri 25 Sep South Petherton
Fri 09 Oct Watchet
Thu 15 Oct Stradbroke
Wed 21 Oct South Warnborough
Mon 26 Oct Emsworth
Wed 28 Oct Droxford
Fri 30 Oct West Camel
Sat 31 Oct Orkney: St Margaret’s Hope
Sun 01 Nov Hethersett
Mon 02 Nov Hawkchurch
Mon 02 Nov Neatishead
Wed 04 Nov Churchinford
Thu 05 Nov St Arvans
Fri 06 Nov Abbots Langley
Fri 06 Nov Dunster
Fri 06 Nov Sheppey Blue Town
Wed 11 Nov Whitchurch
Thu 12 Nov Hanging Langford
Fri 13 Nov Chepstow
Fri 13 Nov Nunney
Fri 27 Nov Norton St Philip
Fri 11 Dec Thruxton
WATCH TRAILER

FOLLOW US
 


Sign up here



Skip to toolbar