Viceroy’s House

Certificate 12A

(2017) 106 mins

Director: Gurinder Chadha
Writer: Paul Mayeda Berges
Cinematography: Ben Smithard
Production Design: Laurence Dorman
Music: A R Rahman

ABOUT

Viceroy’s House in Delhi was the home of the British rulers of India. After 300 years, that rule was coming to an end.  For 6 months in 1947, Lord Mountbatten, great grandson of Queen Victoria, assumed the post of the last Viceroy, charged with handing India back to its people.  The film’s story unfolds within that great House.  Upstairs lived Mountbatten together with his wife and daughter; downstairs lived their 500 Hindu, Muslim and Sikh servants.  As the political elite – Nehru (Tanveer Ghani), Jinnah (Denzil Smith) and Gandhi (Neeraj Kabi) – converged on the House to wrangle over the birth of independent India, conflict erupted.  A decision was taken to divide the country and create a new Muslim homeland: Pakistan.  It was a decision whose consequences reverberate to this day. The film examines these events through the prism of a marriage – that of Dickie and Edwina Mountbatten (Hugh Bonneville and Gillian Anderson) – and a romance – that between a young Hindu servant, Jeet (Manish Dayal), and his intended Muslim bride, Aalia (Huma Qureshi).

It is a story that is deeply personal to Gurinder Chadha, whose own family was caught up in the tragic events that unfolded as the Raj came to an end.

For more information, including a full cast list and reviews, go to:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4977530/?ref_=nv_sr_1

 

REVIEWS

Viceroy’s House accomplishes what it sets out to do and does it well, despite falling prey to a handful of clichés and narrative trip-ups. One should not walk away from it thinking of the romance, but instead it should be treated as a lovingly-crafted and portentous history lesson – even with its potentially narrow focus, in times such as these when division and mistrust are flaring once again, it is a warning of the present and the future just as much as it is a reminder of a nation’s turbulent past.”  ScreenJabber

While the film might have gone further in laying bare the true scale of the political subterfuge and the upheaval it caused, it is refreshingly blunt about a period of history often viewed through a rose-tinted lens. Everyone has blame to bear – some more than others – and Chadha isn’t afraid to share it out.”  Radio Times

SHOWING TIMES
Fri 01 Sep Highcliffe
Fri 01 Sep Llanfoist
Sat 02 Sep Steeple Ashton
Sun 03 Sep Hambledon
Mon 04 Sep Aldershot
Tue 05 Sep Yetminster
Wed 06 Sep Codford
Thu 07 Sep Boscombe
Thu 07 Sep St Arvans
Thu 07 Sep Titchfield
Fri 08 Sep Blofield
Fri 08 Sep Llanfair Kilgeddin
Fri 08 Sep Tisbury
Sat 09 Sep Dinas Powys
Sun 10 Sep Crowcombe
Tue 12 Sep Bourton
Tue 12 Sep Membury
Thu 14 Sep Mere
Fri 15 Sep Abbots Langley
Fri 15 Sep Stanhoe
Fri 15 Sep Wicklewood
Sat 16 Sep Hinton St George
Sat 16 Sep Langham
Sat 16 Sep Somerton
Sat 16 Sep South Wonston
Mon 18 Sep Cerne Abbas
Tue 19 Sep Filby
Tue 19 Sep Pewsey
Wed 20 Sep Calne
Wed 20 Sep Flordon
Wed 20 Sep Motcombe
Thu 21 Sep Cowbridge
Thu 21 Sep Stradbroke
Fri 22 Sep Dunster
Fri 22 Sep Hempnall
Fri 22 Sep Sheppey Blue Town
Fri 22 Sep Winterslow
Mon 25 Sep Emsworth
Tue 26 Sep Dereham
Tue 26 Sep Marnhull
Wed 27 Sep East Knoyle
Wed 27 Sep Grittleton
Wed 27 Sep Mylor Bridge
Thu 28 Sep Milland
Thu 28 Sep Stoke Bruerne
Fri 29 Sep Bickenhall
Fri 29 Sep Collingbourne Ducis
Fri 29 Sep East Meon
Sat 30 Sep Doulting
Tue 03 Oct Capel
Tue 03 Oct Yetminster
Wed 04 Oct Kilmington
Fri 06 Oct Buriton
Fri 06 Oct Liphook
Sat 07 Oct Bowerchalke
Mon 09 Oct Beaminster
Wed 11 Oct Ringwood
Thu 12 Oct Brundish
Thu 12 Oct Owslebury
Fri 13 Oct Chulmleigh
Fri 13 Oct Hiltingbury
Sat 14 Oct Buckingham
Sat 14 Oct Radstock
Mon 16 Oct Long Stratton
Mon 16 Oct Stourbridge
Mon 16 Oct Upper Clatford
Thu 19 Oct Horton
Fri 20 Oct Catbrook
Fri 20 Oct Edington
Sat 21 Oct Downton
Wed 25 Oct Llandovery
Thu 26 Oct Harleston
Fri 27 Oct Bishopstone
Fri 27 Oct Fordingbridge
Fri 03 Nov Horning
Wed 08 Nov Fontmell Magna
Fri 10 Nov Steep
Sat 11 Nov Marlingford
Sun 12 Nov Hethersett
Fri 17 Nov Northwold
Fri 17 Nov Odiham
Sat 18 Nov Weston Longville
Tue 21 Nov Winsford
Wed 22 Nov East Stratton
Thu 23 Nov Waterlooville
Fri 24 Nov Thruxton
Thu 07 Dec Hawkley
Fri 08 Dec Hoxne
Fri 08 Dec Stanton
Sun 10 Dec Chilworth
Wed 13 Dec Sherborne
WATCH TRAILER

Patron Julian Fellowes

Follow Us On Twitter